On My Mind

Standard

Today, my momma is having surgery and I’m nervous. This happens every time someone I know goes in for any type of surgery, but it’s magnified times infinity when it’s my mom or dad because they’re in pretty good health and surgery or hospital stays, in general, are kind of rare for them. I mean, they’ve been there all of my life (obviously) and for something to go wrong and all of a sudden they aren’t there any more… I just get nervous, unlike my ultra-strong nurse sister, Colleen, who always has a clear head about such things.

Typically, when Mom or Dad have some sort of surgery or are in the hospital for one reason or another, I try to spend as much time as possible at the hospital with them. I guess it’s kind of like if something goes wrong (God forbid), I’ll already be there and not in transit. I mean, I live at least a half an hour away from the hospitals in Syracuse and if I got a call that Mom or Dad was there…Well, lets just say that a half an hour is a long time to be on the highway while anything could be happening at your destination.

Maybe this all seems quite paranoid. But my parents are both getting older and although their health is pretty good, I know that someday… You know what I mean.

My mom’s recovery time is about six weeks–she can’t lift anything for that length, which means no babysitting. Thus, it kind of worked out that I lost my job right before her surgery. Plus, it gives me time to take care of Mom (if needed) after Dad goes back to work next week.

So yeah.

I’m thinking about my mama today–and hoping that everything goes okay.

 

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

