Zac’s Football Game

Standard

So, this past Friday night, Greg, Zoey and I went to not only my niece Keagan’s soccer game (read about it here), but also my nephew Zac’s football game. Zac has been playing football since he was just a little kid and now he’s on the varsity team for Tully, his high school.

Zac is number 52

It’s been a long time since I was at a high school football game–especially at night under the lights. There’s something to be said about the overall feeling of a game–the crisp autumn air, the smells from the nearby concession stand, the familiar faces that you haven’t seen in years in the crowd. To be honest, I loved every minute of it.

Game time

Naturally, my child headed straight for the concession stand when she saw it:

She was all about the nachos

Greg and I took turns taking pictures of the game and following Zoey as she explored the walkway in front of the bleachers. It took her a little bit of time to accept that most people were standing or sitting on the bleachers watching the game. She kept trying to get to the end of the walkway where all of the high school kids were hanging out watching the game. Apparently she wanted to hang out with them. I kept pulling her back because some of the kids were getting kind of rowdy.

Zac ready for action

Finally, Zoey decided she wanted to sit on the bleachers with my mom and dad, my sister, Colleen, and her husband, Seth, and their youngest daughter, Rowan. I sat next to Zoey and she sat next to Rowan, whom she just absolutely adores. The two little girls shared goldfish crackers I had brought and a Barqs root beer and clapped whenever anyone made a play.

We only stayed until half-time because by that time, Zoey was getting antsy and a little grouchy. It was getting closer to her bedtime and she had had such a big evening–obviously, she’s not used to going to two sporting events on the same night. While the cheerleaders finished up their routine, Greg, Zoey and I headed to the car to go home.

All three of us enjoyed what we saw of the game. And even though Tully ended up losing the game, they played hard and for that, they should be proud.

For more pics from the  game, click here.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

