The Giants Vs. The Fresh Beat Band

Standard

Yesterday afternoon, Miss Zoey, Greg and I headed to Emmett and Karen’s house (Greg’s dad and stepmom) to watch the Giants (Greg’s favorite team) take on the Redskins (Karen’s favorite team). Because of the fact that Greg and Karen are both big fans of their teams, we knew it was going to be an awesome game–regardless of what the outcome was.

Greg and I were so excited because a couple days before, we had found Giants temporary tattoos in one of those 50-cent machines at the store. We had thought Zoey would be all into have a temporary tattoo and we even got enough for Greg and I to have one so that all three of us could match. We had thought Zoey would think it was SO COOL that we all had one.

Fast forward to yesterday when Greg and I each put one on (mine on my arm and Greg’s under his eyes) and showed Zoey–aaaannnnnddd she wanted to have nothing to do with them. But we already had ours on, so we were stuck feeling like fools for the rest of the afternoon.

Tough guy

So, the game was already on the TV when we got to Karen and Emmett’s house–much to Zoey’s dismay. She had clearly been planning on watching The Fresh Beat Band with Grammy Karen (as is their little routine when we visit) and wasn’t entirely happy to find football on instead. “I watch Beats,” she kept saying as she walked around the living room and kitchen. She’s still too young to understand THEGIANTSAREPLAYINGTHEREDSKINSOMG! and that the TV cannot be touched until the game is over.

Thankfully, Karen whipped out her laptop and made everything right again in Zoey’s world.

She was completely oblivious to most of the football game

She did surface from her Fresh Beat Band haze for a few minutes to check out about two minutes of the game:

Go Giants!

And to let the cat out onto the deck:

Big girl

And then, of course, there was the random drum circle that popped up when Zoey discovered Grammy Karen’s stash of instruments in her office:

They got the beat

But then it was back to watching The Fresh Beat Band on Karen’s laptop. Zoey curled up on the couch in the living room and watched her favorite show until this happened:

Just. Plain. Beautiful.

A super-huge thanks to Karen and Emmett for a wonderful lunch, fabulous company and a great, great time.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

