Zoey’s Second Swimming Lesson

Standard

Okay, this past Saturday, Zoey had her second swimming lesson and it went SO much better than the first one. Greg and I had talked to her a few times during the week about listening to her teacher and doing what they say–I think it helped a bit that we said Mommy and Daddy had to listen and do as the teachers said because we’d be in the pool too. And on the way to the YWCA, she and I talked about how AWESOME kick boards can be and how she should at least TRY to use one. I gave her the choice about whether or not to accept the pool noodles–that was just a battle I wasn’t willing to wage.

So we got there early, which gave us enough time to make sure Zoey was all ready for her lesson and also, to watch the class before us. By some stroke of luck, the class before us was a class of older kids, which Zoey automatically was incredibly interested in watching (although she wanted to get in the pool with them).

Watching the swimming lesson before ours

Just chillin’

But she saw them listening to the teacher and she saw using the kickboards and something must have clicked in her head because when it was time for our lesson, she wasn’t as ready to push the kickboard away.

It was so much easier to get her to kick her legs this time around. And she loved the games the teachers had the kids play. I think, probably, her favorite game was when we sort of bounced around in a circle in the water while singing a song–the teacher had asked Zoey what her favorite song was and Zoey had chosen Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. The only problem was, after we did that song a couple times, Zoey didn’t understand why her teachers couldn’t sing Fresh Beat Band songs next. I mean, everybody loves The Fresh Beat Band, right?

So we played games and worked on reaching for the far wall while kicking our legs. We sang songs and pretended to be a rocket ship blasting out of the water. It was a half an hour of pure fun and Zoey and I were totally exhausted after the whole thing was over. And as soon as we were in the locker room to change (still not enough private dressing areas in there), Zoey asked if we could go back to the pool. And kept asking for the rest of the day and the next day.

I’m really glad (and kind of relieved) that the second lesson went better than the first. I’m glad she seems to really love her teachers (as evidenced by her shouting, “My teacher!” every time she watches the video we took at her first lesson) and that she likes the games they play in class. I’m glad she’s into all of that because it’s just so very important to Greg and I that she learns to swim.

Now if we could only get her teachers to learn to sing Fresh Beat Band songs. Of course, if that happened, we’d never get Zoey out of the pool.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

