Swimmingly

Standard

This past Saturday was Zoey’s fourth swimming lesson and after the disaster of the one before that, I was a little apprehensive that this one would go well. I thought for sure that she’d, once again, want only to play Ring Around the Rosy in the water instead of work with the kick board and use a pool noodle (the dreaded pool noodle that she hates!) to kick her way across the pool. I was ready to tell her we were going to leave if she started throwing a fit at the lack of Ring Around the Rosy. I was ready to follow through and Greg was ready to back me up.

But something must have happened in Zoey’s mind between the last lesson and this one because, it turns out, we had nothing to worry about. Maybe it was the fact that Greg and I have been telling her that she and Daddy and I need to listen to the teachers and do what they say when we’re in the pool. Or maybe it’s because Daddy happened to catch her tantrums in the pool at the last lesson on video and Zoey (who loves to watch the video clips we occasionally take of her) didn’t like to see herself acting badly. I’m thinking it might be that because every time she’s watching that particular video clip and sees herself screaming, she turns to me with a sheepish smile and says, “hiiiiii.” Uh huh. Hi indeed.

Regardless, this past lesson was AWESOME. She listened to the teachers, she did the drills–even with the pool noodle. And as a result? One of the teachers asked her what her favorite song was and when Zoey answered (of course) Ring Around the Rosy, we all sang it while bouncing around the pool in a circle.

Zoey loves her teachers and both girls are so great with the kids. They always seem to see when Zoey needs a little more encouragement than what I can give her and when they tell her how well she’s kicking her legs or reaching her arms out in front of her, they make a big deal about giving her props. And that clearly means the world to Zoey.

Greg and I both told Zoey what a great job she did at her lesson. Grammy Karen and Grampy Emmett were there to watch too, and they told her the same thing. She rocked the lesson. She just plain rocks.

And as an added bonus, Greg, Zoey and I met Aunt Kim and cousin Lisa and Zoey’s favorite place in THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD–Macdonalds–for lunch. She got to tell them all about her lesson, too.

I’m so proud of her. Every week she’s growing and changing and adapting and just plain being awesome. She’s doing so well with her lessons that Greg and I have already talked about being the first in line in March for registration for the next session of lessons. Oh yes, there will be many more weekends of battling pool noodles to come.

But that’s okay because, in the end, our little girl is clearly enjoying it.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

