Zoey Moments #37 and #38 (Sort Of)

Standard

File this under ‘Out of the Mouths of Babes’:

Last week, after I had picked Zoey up from my mom’s house, I pulled the Mommy Mobile into our driveway and Zoey and I spotted Brutus (our black lab) laying on our porch. Naturally, as soon as Brutus eyed my truck, he started barking like crazy.

This is what I heard from the backseat: “There’s Brutus barking like an ass. He’s so silly.”

My jaw dropped.

“Where did you learn that? Who told you that?” I asked.

“Scout,” Zoey answered calmly. For those of you who don’t know, Scout is our other dog.

I told her we don’t say that word, even as I was trying not to giggle. Even though I don’t really consider ‘ass’ a bad word, it sounds weird coming out of an almost-three little girl’s mouth.

Aaaannnnd for #38 that totally goes along with #37:

Yesterday, when I pulled the Mommy Mobile into the driveway, Greg noticed we had arrived and came outside (as he does everyday) to help me carry our bags and whatnot.

When Zoey saw Greg walking towards the car, she said, “There’s Daddy running like an ass.”

Seriously, people, have we corrupted our child? I told her once again not to say that, but I have to admit I bit back a smile as I followed Greg and Zoey inside the house.

We just never know what she’s going to say next.

Leave a Reply

