Grandpa Hoose’s Surprise Birthday Cookout

Standard

Sooo, I’m a little late posting these pictures and all because we surprised Grandpa Hoose two weekends ago. Heh. But remember what I said in another recent post about recent craziness and not having time to blog and being behind and…okay, enough of the excuses.

So.

A couple of weekends ago, my daddy turned, um, twenty-nine-ish and to celebrate, almost the entire family was able to surprise him with a cookout. How did we do it? Pretty simple–my mom had arranged for the family to show up at a certain time with food. In the meantime, she had mentioned to my dad that it seemed like a good day for a hot dog roast, so he got their fire pit ready. He didn’t realize that he was getting it ready for his own party. Sneaky, sneaky, right?

Greg, Zoey and I got to their house first–which was a miracle in itself because we were coming straight from another birthday party twenty minutes away. My other sisters and their families hadn’t arrived yet, so Greg and I just sort of played it off that we had decided to visit so Zoey could play on their playground. Then my younger sister, Cristy, showed up and I snuck inside mom and dad’s house with Cristy and Mom to finish making the salads and fruit plate. A little while later, my older sister, Colleen and her family showed up and we all trekked outside to the fire pit to surprise Dad.

He was totally surprised; he had had no idea whatsoever that this plan had been in the works for a couple of weeks–or that my mom had been bustling around their kitchen ALL MORNING making food for dad’s party. In short, we all rock.

So, the cookout was awesome.

The fam getting their hotdog roast on

From Left to Right: Zoey, Aunt Colleen, Keagan, Uncle Seth and Rowan

Right off the bat, Zoey was excited about getting to roast a hot dog and her Aunt Colleen was so ready to help her:

This picture makes me smile

Serious hotdog roasting face

The men chillin’ and makin’ dogs

After her hot dog was ready, Zoey insisted on sitting with two of her most favorite people in the entire world, her cousins, Keagan and Rowan:

From Left to Right: Keagan, Zoey, Rowan

And then, OF COURSE, it was time for the girls to play on the swings:

Rowan was off-camera making Zoey laugh really hard

Look at the gorgeous country view behind my baby

After the kids played for a while, it was time for cake:

My Daddy

Dad with the grandkids; top row: Zac and Skylar; bottom row: Zoey, Keagan, Dad and Rowan

Dad with the grandkids and his dog, Bandit

Zoey enjoyed the cake

Yep, definitely liked it

Everyone just hung out after that. The kids played; the adults talked. It was just such a relaxing time.

Eventually, it got dark and everyone found a place to sit around the fire:

Naturally, Zoey had to sit with one of her favorite people, Rowan:

It was really awesome spending the afternoon with everyone and I hope my dad had a wonderful birthday.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

